Library Home

About the Library
Reference
Tutorials Online
Links to Other Sites

GRACE
Research Databases

Library Website Map

Image: GTU Building Header: Flora Lamson Hewlett Library

Research Databases

  • Journal indexes/abstracts for religion/theology/philosophy
  • Other journal indexes/abstracts (humanities, art, music, social sciences, dissertations, etc.)
  • Other databases (texts, encyclopedias, Books in Print, WorldCat, images, music, statistics, etc.)
  • A-Z List:
  • Information about access, connecting, and getting help

EBSCO Host:
Journal article databases. Search EBSCO Host databases simultaneously or use the links below to search individual databases. Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus


  • ATLA Religion Database / ATLAS about the database
    Broad coverage in all areas of religion and theology. Also, use this database if you wish to search for journal articles on a particular Bible passage
    Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    Broad coverage in all areas of religion and theology that appear in journals from Catholic-oriented publishers. Also, use this database if you wish to search for journal articles on a particular Bible passage
    Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

  • Religion and Philosophy Collection about the database
    Broad coverage in all areas of religion and theology.
    Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

  • Old Testament Abstracts:
    Use this database if you wish to search for journal articles on a particular Bible passage or for topics relating to the Old Testament
    Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

  • New Testament Abstracts:
    Use this database if you wish to search for journal articles on a particular Bible passage or for topics relating to the New Testament
    Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
    Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

    Please contact the GTU Library Reference Desk for access via password.

InfoTrac Religion and Philosophy:
Full-text journal article database with broad coverage in all areas of religion and theology

Religious and Theological Abstracts (RTA):
Abstract and indexing database with broad coverage in all areas of religion and theology
More about the database

Guide to Social Science and Religion: about the database

Philosopher's Index: about the database

RAMBI - Index of Articles in Jewish Studies: about the database
Connect

Research in Ministry: Index to D.Min. projects at reporting schools of theology
Go to login page (no password needed)

TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network: Theses and dissertations from 70 participating institutions. Some conference proceedings also available. Items can be purchased from TREN site.
Connect

Zeitschriften Inhaltsdienst Theologie (ZID Theologie)
Connect

THEOLDI: -- Includes three databases: BILDI (Biblical Literature, with subsets Deuteronomy Bibliography; Plants and Animals in the Bible), KALDI (Canonistic Literature), and MIMESIS (Mimetic Theory of Rene Girard).
Connect

Theology and Peace: -- Index to theological and other related literature that is relevant to research in peace ethics. Indexes 130,000 titles by subject. From the Institute for Theology and Peace.
Connect


Other Indexes

PsychARTICLES

Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Wilson Select Plus: Access to 1,500 electronic journals in full text covering a wide range of academic and popular subjects. See a list of available ejournals.
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Ethnic NewsWatch: about the database (2 simultaneous users)
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Arts and Humanitites Citation Index
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Dissertation Abstracts: Index with abstracts of Ph.D. dissertations, mostly North American institutions but some other institutions also included.
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Theses Canada: Theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives of Canada. Full-text theses in PDF format available for some documents. Includes Canadian D.Min theses (choose keyword search for D.MIN).
Connect

Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN): Theses and dissertations from many institutions with religious affiliations. Items can be purchased from the TREN site directly.
Connect

The British Library: Includes British theses.
Connect

FirstSearch: Gateway to many databases in a variety of subjects, including art, biology, education, newspapers, proceedings, psychology, and sociology. See the list below.
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

  • AHSearch :Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  • AltPressIndex :Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change
  • AltPressIndexArchive :Index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change
  • ArticleFirst :OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals
  • BasicBIOSIS :Basic information about biology and other life sciences
  • BioDigest :Life-science information written in a non-technical style
  • BooksInPrint :In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios and videos, with optional reviews
  • BusManagement :Practical aspects and approaches to business management
  • ClasePeriodica :Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
  • CWI :Contemporary Women's Issues (health and human rights)
  • Dissertations :Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe
  • Ebooks :OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide
  • EconLit :Journals, books, and working papers on economics
  • FactSearch :Facts and statistics on topics of current interest
  • GEOBASE :Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology
  • GPO :U.S. government publications
  • NewsAbs :Significant items from over 50 U.S. national and regional newspapers
  • PAISArchive :Retrospective database chronicling global public policy and social issues
  • PAISInternational :Database chronicling global public policy and social issues
  • PapersFirst :OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
  • Proceedings :An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings
  • PsycFIRST :Psychology and related fields in the current and most recent three update years
  • SIRSResearcher :Social, scientific, economic, and political issues worldwide
  • UnionLists :List of periodicals held by OCLC member libraries
  • WilsonSelectPlus :Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business
  • WorldAlmanac :Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs
  • WorldCat :OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide

AARP Research Center: bibliographic database, links to selected web sites, and full text sources available from the American Association of Retired Persons.
Connect

Bioethicsline: A database of citations to literature on ethical, legal, and related public policy issues in health care and biomedical research.
Connect

ERIC: The world's largest database of education information includes more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Connect

PubMed: Search the medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine site.
Connect

Psychoanalytic Literature: Database provided by the American Psychoanalytic Association consisting of nearly 30,000 references to journal articles, books, and book reviews.
Connect


Other Databases CatalogsEncyclopediasEbooksTextsImages, Manuscripts, Music, and Other MediaStatistics

Catalogs

Books in Print
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

WorldCat: A combined database of the holdings of thousands of libraries around the world.
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Incunabula Database: Identifies specific titles among 430 works of incunabula, books printed before 1501 that are held at the Bancroft Library of the University of California, Berkeley.
Connect

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online: about the database (1 simultaneous user)
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Oxford English Dictionary:
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online:
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Encyclopaedia Britannica: about the database
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Free, scholarly, and peer-reviewed encyclopedia hosted by Stanford University.
Connect

Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search the entire Gale Virtual Reference Library,
connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Individual titles can also be searched once you have logged on. Titles in the Gale Virtual Reference Library are:
  • African American Almanac, 9th ed., 2003
  • Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd ed., 2006
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism, 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America, 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2006
  • Encyclopedia of Psychology
  • Encyclopedia of Religion, 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Science and Religion, 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2000
  • New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2003
  • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, 2005

Grove Dictionary of Art Online: about the database
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Wikipedia: "The free encyclopedia that anyone can edit."
Connect

See also on CD-ROM:

Ebooks

netLibrary: about the database
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

University of California Press Scholarship Editions: Over 500 online full-text editions of books from the University of California Press. Nearly 300 of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are accessible to non-UCB faculty and students on the UCB campus only.
Connect

Texts

CLCLT: Library of Latin Texts (CETEDOC)
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus
The Digital Karl Barth Library
Connect from:• Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus
Luthers Werke
Connect from:• Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus
Patrologiae Graecae
Connect from:• Library or on-campus •••

See these databases on CD-ROM:

Images, Manuscripts, Music and Other Multimedia

Classical Music Library: Database of audio recordings playable via the web. (2 simultaneous users)
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings Online: Database of audio recordings playable via the web. 300 tracks from the Folkways series, including world music, folk, jazz, poetry, sounds, and more. (3 simultaneous users)
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

ArtStor:
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Index of Christian Art:
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Bibliography of the History of Art:
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Grove Dictionary of Art Online Image Collections: Part of the Grove Dictionary of Art Online. See more about the database
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

Art Concordance: From The Text This Week, free lectionary, scripture study and worship links and resources.
Connect

Oxford Reference Online Visual English Dictionary: Part of the Oxford Reference Online database. See more about the database
Connect from: • Library or on-campus ••• Off-campus

ATLA Collaborative Digital Resources Project (CDRI): Woodcuts, photgraphs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, manuscripts, and other media relevant to teaching and learning in theological education.
Connect

Internet Mission Photography Archive: "Historical images in the Internet Mission Photography Archive come from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections held at a number of centers in Britain, continental Europe, and North America. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean."
Connect

Digital Scriptorium: An image database of dated and datable medieval and renaissance manuscripts. Consists of ca. 8,500 color images from the U.C. Berkeley and Columbia-affiliated libraries, as well as the Union Theological Seminary (NY) and the De Bellis Collection (CA).
Connect

Digital Archive of the Archival Research Center (USC): "Provides access to over 20,000 photographs, maps, manuscripts, dissertations, records, texts, and sound recordings owned by USC and partnering institutions with particular emphasis on materials related to Southern California." Includes the Internet Mission Photography Archive, the Chinese Historical Society of Southern California Digital Archive, digitized copies of El Clamor Publico from 1855-1859, and many other treasures.
Connect

In the First Person: Database pointing to oral history resources in libraries. Full-text narratives, images, and audio/video files available.
Connect

New York Public Library Digital Collections: Search digitized images from several different special collections at New York Public Library.
Connect

Picture History: Historical photos and images.
Connect

Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web: A project of the Smithsonian Institution Library. A searchable directory of nearly 3,000 online exhibitions.
Connect

British Library Digital Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts: "A searchable illustrated catalogue of all the western illuminated manusripts in the British Library. The Library holds one of the richest collections of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the world, and its goal is to provide unprecedented access to images and information about its manuscripts to students, scholars and the general public."
Connect

See these databases on CD-ROM:

Statistics

American Religion Data Archive (ARDA): Sponsored by the Lilly Endowment, ARDA collects quantitative data sets for the study of American religion. The site is a place to locate data files for topics of interest, rather than a place to read the results of surveys. When you search under a topic, you can review the results on-line or save the survey questions to a "Question Bank" to construct your own survey.
Connect

Information about Access

Research databases are available to all users within the library. Access from home to some databases is limited to GTU students, faculty, visiting scholars, and staff.

Having problems connecting? Please see the Research Database Connection Problem Report Form.

Last updated January 25, 2008

© 2002 Graduate Theological Union
All Rights Reserved

GTU Main Page